Exploring Borel Spaces and Sigma Algebras in Stochastic Calculus for Finance

• Thread starter Iforgot
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Finance
In summary: I'm still in the process of getting experience and building some credibility. But I think it definitely helps.
Iforgot
Hey,

I'm studying for interviews at the big finance firms, where I hear they grill you on stochastic calculus and finance stuff.

I'm currently studying Oksendal and Shreve, and while I can follow the applied math parts, I would like to get a firmer grasp on the pure math parts. Does anyone know what subject Borel spaces and sigma algebras fall under, and recommend any books on the subject.

Iforgot

Physics news on Phys.org
Measure theory and probability. There are lots of free introductory materials online waiting for you to google.

Iforgot said:
I'm studying for interviews at the big finance firms, where I hear they grill you on stochastic calculus and finance stuff.

Yes and no. If you don't have deep background on SDE's, then they are likely to see if you know what Ito's lemma is and then grill you on whatever you did your Ph.D. research on.

Something I'd read up on is measure theory and maybe something on markov processes. Also, if you are a physics geek, then it might help if you read up on some very basic statistics and econometrics.

The other thing that will help you is the format of the interview. What will happen is that you will be asked increasingly difficult questions until you get to something that you don't know. What people are interested in seeing is both the limit of your knowledge, but also how you react when you hit your limits.

Iforgot said:
Hey,

I'm currently studying Oksendal and Shreve, and while I can follow the applied math parts, I would like to get a firmer grasp on the pure math parts. Does anyone know what subject Borel spaces and sigma algebras fall under, and recommend any books on the subject.

Hi there, Iforgot.