Strongly interacting vs Weakly interacting particles

• Thread starter deepurple
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Particles
In summary, the speaker is a mathematician who is trying to understand a physics paper for their research. They have a college background in physics but are not a physicist. They are specifically trying to grasp the difference between strongly interacting systems and weakly interacting systems, which are used frequently in the paper. The speaker requests a brief explanation of the subject and mentions that they are unsure if they have posted in the correct forum. The difference between strongly interacting and weakly interacting systems is that weakly interacting systems can be solved using perturbation theory, while strongly interacting systems cannot. However, it is possible to perform perturbation theory about other points of theory space. The speaker thanks the person for their response.
deepurple
I am a mathematician, and I am trying to figure out a physics paper for my research. I am not a physicist but I have some college background on physics.

I am trying to understand the difference between strongly interacting systems compared to weakly interacting systems.. These are used very ubiquitously in the paper, and they seem to be obvious for the right audience.

Could you please brief me on the subject? ( I hope I post to the correct forum)

Physics news on Phys.org
Essentially, something is weakly interacting if you can perform a perturbative calculation. More accurately, a perturbative approximation, since most of the time the expansion is only asymptotically convergent. Strongly interacting is whenever this is not possible.

Usually, we perform expansions about Gaussian theories, since they are exactly solvable. This then leads to the usual formalisms with Feynman diagrams or Dyson equations. In principle however, there is nothing to stop you doing perturbation theory about other points of theory space.