Internet Speed: Understanding Bandwidth and How to Get the Best Deal

In summary: The modem is connected to a switch, and the switch only runs at 10 mb/s so it doesn't matter if the modem is 10/100/1000 because the switch is 10. Your old modem probably connected directly to your computer's network card which ran at 100 mb/s so the whole network ran at 100.No, the type of network connection technology should not affect the bandwidth speed. The discrepancy could be due to the type or quality of the modem or router being used, or the length and quality of the cable connecting the modem to your computer. It could also be due to network settings or configurations. As for the advertised software claiming to boost internet speed, they are often scams and may even harm your computer
b.shahvir
Hi, :smile:

I'm a novice as far as computing and the internet is concerned and hence I need to get some concepts cleared about the same.

I've availed for a broadband internet service at my residence for personal use from my local WAN service provider. The plan I've availed for is for 256 Kbps download speed. I was a bit uncertain about the speed and hence ran an online speed test using 'Speedtest.net' internet speed testing site. The following were the results of the test;

Latency test (ping test) = 25ms
Download speed = 310Kbps
Upload speed = approx. about 70Kbps
The bandwith speed is 10Mpbs as displayed at the task bar connectivity icons of my PC.

When I ran the same online test for other computers (i.e. at my workplace) I got the following results;

Latency test (ping test) = 30ms
Download speed = 420Kbps
Upload speed = approx. about 430Kbps
The bandwith speed is 100Mpbs as displayed at the task bar connectivity icons.