Is Becoming a High School Physics Teacher Right for Me?

In summary, Luke is considering leaving grad school because he doesn't enjoy it, and is looking for alternate career options. He is considering becoming a high school physics teacher, but is worried about his lack of teaching experience. He is also considering getting an alt-certification to teach without a teaching credential. He is worried about the cost of getting the certification, and whether or not there are any scholarships available.
Cluelessluke
Hey there! My name is Luke and I got my bachelors in BS Physics last year (along with a math minor). I am enrolled in grad school but I'm starting to feel it might not be for me. So I'm trying to think of career alternatives. What sounds very interesting and rewarding is becoming a high school physics teacher.

However, I have no educational background (besides TAing undergraduate physics labs). So, I would need to go back to school and get my education license.

I'm saying all this because I'm curious if anyone has had any experience with this whole going back to school to get an education license and/or having a grad school "falling out". Any advice or personal experiences related to this would be greatly GREATLY appreciated. Thanks so much for your time!

Luke

Physics news on Phys.org
You can probably get an alt-cert for teaching physics if you have the undergrad degree, and leave grad school with a masters.

You should also keep in mind that many high schools no longer have a dedicated physics teacher, but instead a general science teacher. Would you be happy teaching biology? Chemistry? I'd suggest contacting your local district, and seeing if you can pick up some shifts as a substitute.

Why do you suggest leaving with a masters? Is it hard to get an alt-cert with a PhD? Or maybe high schools will feel you're overqualified with a PhD?