Help with syringe pressure and Students T test

In summary, the individual is conducting an experiment to prove that a smaller syringe creates a higher negative pressure for a given force of aspiration. They used a 5 ml and 10 ml syringe with a 1 kg weight and recorded the negative pressure readings using a Digitron electronic manometer. They are questioning if a "Students t" test would be appropriate and if MS excel can be used. They also mention the importance of considering the time aspect in the experiment.
madpsychic
I am a doctor with limited mathematics knowledge. I am trying to prove to my medical fraternity that for a given force of aspiration, a smaller syringe generates a higher "negative pressure". I did a small experiment. I hung an one kilogram weight on a 5 ml and 10 ml syringe and connected it to a Digitron electronic manometer. I got the following neg pressure readings (cm Hg).
The 5 ml syringe: 57.3;55.8;56.7;56.6;55.9;56.6;57.4;56.1;56.1;56.6 The 10 ml syringe gave the following: 32.8;32.3;30.7;31.9;31.9;32.6;30.6;33.3;32.1;30.5
I would like to"scientifically" say that the smaller syringe creates a bigger negative pressure.
Would a "Students t" test be an appropriate one to use ? Can I use MS excel do do the test ?

With regards to the posting by light_bulb: for each reading , i gave a 30 second time period for the readings to settle. Hopefully that will look after the time aspect of things ?

Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
you'll be using more force in the same amount of time to compensate for filling more volume, so unless your juggling the amount of force or time the larger syringe will create a higher negative pressure.

i'd just put it down like ml / seconds * 0.19336779 = psi a second at 0 degrees c

Last edited:

Hello,

As a math tutor, I would be happy to provide some guidance on your experiment and the use of statistical tests to prove your hypothesis.