Fiber optic current sensors

In summary, a fiber optic current sensor is a sensor that uses optical fibers to measure electric current by detecting changes in light intensity. It works through the Faraday Effect, and has advantages such as high accuracy and immunity to interference. Applications include power systems and medical devices, but limitations exist such as specialized equipment and higher costs compared to traditional sensors.
strafer
Hello..I'm a undergrad student from hyderabad ,India. Presently I'm am doing a theory based research project on fiber optic current sensors ..which are mainly used to sense current in substations .

Recently i got a paper when i googled on the net. It was titled Temperature and Vibration Insensitive Fiber-Optic current sensor(pdf file attached ). In this papers two configurations of FOCS are discussed

-fiber-optic current sensor with 1.Sagnac interferometer configuration
2 .Reflective configuration

As I'm still graduating ..i don't have a deep knowledge on these configs but howevr I am aware of the basics of fiber optics and communications

Can anyone explain the following :

1.these two configs in detail...also differences between them ,pricniples of operation,current ratings measured by each..advantages and disadvantages etc

2.paper explanation in detail..

Hoping for positive replies...please help. i need this info ASAP

http://www.mediafire.com/?yjotjb1tim2cv4m (link to pdf)

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
You are asking for a great deal here!