What drives you to make a difference in the world?

• Thread starter Mallignamius
  • Start date
In summary: I think the people who haven't lost hope or had their dreams stomped to the ground care. everyone else can jump off a cliff, they are the people that make life feel ******. live and let live, don't hate on me because that's all you know./end ranti think everyone has a mix of motives, some people care, some don't. it's a spectrum. as for the world maturing, i think it will eventually, but i think it will happen gradually.My motives for my career and studies are to give back to society in some way. I want to make a difference in the world. I think that's why I'm studying science
Mallignamius
I've seen some people do some nasty, terrifying things. Things that have kept me up at night. I've seen people do some beautiful, wondrous things. Things that change lives.

Of course some people care. I frequently wonder what the ratio is. I suppose I'm doing a bit of soul-searching. I suppose that's why I'm going into science; to try to make a difference in the world.

Admittedly, I'm a bit intimidated here. At least I'm reading your posts more than writing. But as I continue to discipline myself, I expect that somehow, I'll be at the level I need and want. College this fall, preparation courses for now. I'm eager to get going.

---

What has been your motive for your career, your studies? How much of an influence do you want to have in the world?

How do you respond to the monsters and jerks of the world? Where do you find your strength and discipline? Your energy?

Do you believe our world will eventually 'mature'?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
i think the people who haven't lost hope or had their dreams stomped to the ground care. everyone else can jump off a cliff, they are the people that make life feel ******. live and let live, don't hate on me because that's all you know.

/end rant