Mathematics involved in Aerodynamics

In summary, Fred mentioned that abstract algebra, topology, logic, set theory, graph theory, combinatorics, and chaos theory are important fields to study when studying aerodynamics. He also said that probability and statistics are important for testing and experimenting, but the rest of the pure mathematics suite (abstract algebra, graph theory, point set topology, etc) tend to have fewer applications to aerospace.
woleka
I'm just beginning to study aerodynamics, and i was wondering if anyone could list the topics, fields, and types of math that are used in textbooks, research papers, journals etc. that one would read when studying aerodynamics?

Engineering news on Phys.org
In regards to math, you can see the whole spectrum of math subjects:
- Algebra
- Calculus
- Differential Equations
- Partial Differential Equations
- Vector Calculus

Research papers are kind of fun in a way. They are usually extremely dry and boring, but the topics are so varied and widespread. I often find myself wondering "how the heck did they come up with that topic?"

So i will never come across:
topology, number theory, abstract algebra, group theory, order theory, topology, fractals, chaos, logic, set theory, category theory, graph theory, combinatronics or any others beyond the above mention?
Also, specifically what type of algebra?

Never is a dangerous word to use. Chaos theory is a stretch. I can't think of any papers or topics off the top of my head that would deal with aerospace and chaos theory. I know there is a decent amount of interest in it in control systems and the like. Topology may be run across. I wasn't quite thinking about that level of detail in response to your question.

You may run into those fields. Who knows? The area of aerospace is so broad. If you are looking for those things, I would think you need to push for research positions.

woleka said: