How can I automate opening email attachments and entering data into a form?

• Thread starter GiTS
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Email
In summary: If the data is in exactly the same format every time you can use a keyboard/mouse macro recording program like "AutoIt". However, this will fail if it cannot work by playing back pre-recorded mouse movements and clicks. (i.e. window in wrong place = miss = fail).On a PC system, "Windows Powershell" from Microsoft (an official component) is a scripting language designed for task automation. It can certainly hook into applications and trigger their menus. I am not sure on its full capabilities as not being a windows tech I only looked briefly at it.
GiTS
I receive excel spreadsheets as email attachments all the time.
I usually open the email, then the attachment, then I copy and paste the data into an html form. A php program automatically enters the data into mysql properly formatted.
I would like to automate the process so that anyone sending emails to the address with the correct header is able to input data. How can I do this?

Thank you for your ideas

Technology news on Phys.org
GiTS said:
I receive excel spreadsheets as email attachments all the time.
I usually open the email, then the attachment, then I copy and paste the data into an html form. A php program automatically enters the data into mysql properly formatted.
I would like to automate the process so that anyone sending emails to the address with the correct header is able to input data. How can I do this?

Thank you for your ideas

Hey GiTS.

What browser do you use? Have you got access to an email daemon?

If you can add third party extensions to your browser and get notifications for incoming emails, use the SDK available to do that.

However if this is not possible, look for an open email client that allows you to hook the notification messages and then parse the message and do your stuff.