Lapack/blas routine to solve y = Ax

• Thread starter missfangula
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is seeking a BLAS or LAPACK subroutine to solve the matrix algebra problem of y = A*x, where y and x are known vectors and A is an unknown matrix. They have found the subroutine dgemv for a similar problem with a known matrix and vector. The matrix A is a 4x4 matrix with the bottom row being [0 0 0 1] and the first three elements of the fourth column being the same as the elements of y. They have searched through lapack and blas for a subroutine but have not found one with the known vectors and unknown matrix. The expert suggests using DGELSD to solve the underdetermined system for the minimum norm solution.
missfangula
Hello everyone,

I am working on a matrix algebra-based project for an unrelated class, but unfortunately, I have no background in matrix algebra. I have managed so far to do most of the work, but I am stuck in my search for the right BLAS or LAPACK subroutine which could solve the following problem:
y = A*x
where y and x are KNOWN vectors, and A is an UNKNOWN matrix. I have found the subroutine dgemv which solves y = A*x, but with A as a KNOWN matrix and y as a KNOWN vector.

As additional information, A is a 4x4 matrix, y, and x are known 4-d vectors. In matrix A, the bottom row is just 0,0,0,1, and the first three elements of column 4 are the same as the elements of vector y.

So it looks like this:

[knownY] [unknown unknown unknown knownY] [0.0]
[knownY] = [unknown unknown unknown knownY]*[0.0]
[knownY] [unknown unknown unknown knownY] [0.0]
[ 1.0 ] [ 0.0 0.0 0.0 1.0 ] [1.0]

My attempt has been to look through lapack and blas for a subroutine, but I cannot find one where the two vectors are known and the matrix is what I am trying to solve for.

Thanks!
-miss fangula

Physics news on Phys.org