Why is weak nuclear bosons carry the isospin charge?

In summary, the weak isospin charge is carried by the leptons and hadrons. The gluons do not carry the charge, but they do have a mass. This is because the weak isospin charge is related to the color charge. Non-abelian gauge theories require the gauge bosons to carry the charge, and self-interact to do so.
AlephClo
The leptons and hadrons carry the weak isospin charge. What allows the weak bosons do carry the charge? Is it because they have a mass?

Physics news on Phys.org
It doesn't have to do with mass - notice that the gluons are massless but they carry color charge. When you consider non-abelian gauge theories (theories where the gauge symmetry is more complicated than that of electromagnetism), your gauge bosons must always carry charge and self-interact.

weak isospin charge
Did you mean weak hypercharge or weak isospin?

King Vitamin,
Thank you for the answer. I am new to particle physics, I am just finishing Deep Down Things from Schaumm. I knew that non-abelian gauge describes the self-interaction; so you are saying that it does not only describes it, but it takes its source, its causation in the non-abelian nature. I will need to dive into gauge theory. Any good introduction book(s), well explained with examples you can recommand? Thanks

Andrien,
I mean the weak isospin.

Thank you Andrien

AlephClo said:
King Vitamin,
Thank you for the answer. I am new to particle physics, I am just finishing Deep Down Things from Schaumm. I knew that non-abelian gauge describes the self-interaction; so you are saying that it does not only describes it, but it takes its source, its causation in the non-abelian nature. I will need to dive into gauge theory. Any good introduction book(s), well explained with examples you can recommand? Thanks

Well I'd be careful saying that one "causes" the other, they're both aspects of the same theory.