Any universities do this type of research?

In summary: However, as you mentioned, this type of UAV has a very large wingspan, which could lead to problems with air flow and stability.
rm446
Hello,

I'm a former grad student with a Master's in Mechanical Engineering (emphasis on Dynamics and Controls) and I'm thinking of going back to school for a Ph. D. I'm very interested in technologies involving the use of endurance UAV's (UAV's designed to stay in the air for weeks at a time) with the ultimate goal of being a cheap alternative to communications satellites. I am also interested in all things autogyro/gyroplane/gyrocopter but it seems no one cares about that technology lol.

Would anyone happen to know professors or universities that do research related to either of these things?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Given our current technologies with respect to UAVs, they would certainly be a more cost-effective alternative to the communications satellites of the 1970s!

However, today's communication satellites have massively greater bandwidths and orbital longevity.

Still, what most people don't realize is that communications satellites no longer carry phone and Internet signals around the world, at least not much. The vast majority is carried by fiber optic, not only throughout most countries, but also between nearly all countries, including numerous undersea trunklines between major countries like the US, UK, S. Korea, Japan, Australia, India, and the many others who're thoroughly connected these days.

As for the rest, a lot of communication runs are still made via microwave relay towers, which form the backbone of cellular phone communications in developing countries.