Why Mechanical Engineering? Benefits & Expectations in India

• Thread starter theitcrowd
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the importance of learning filing, hacksawing, cutting, and carpentry work in mechanical engineering, particularly in the context of the speaker's education in India. It is mentioned that understanding these manufacturing methods is crucial for designing cost-effective and operable parts. The speaker also asks for advice on what to expect in their future education.
theitcrowd
Hi Everyone,

I am a mechanical engineering student, But I just don't understand why do we need to know filing, Hacksawing, cutting etc. and carpentry work ? I am in my first year and I just finished a semester, but I don't really know why we needed to do all that last semester , I mean I don't get the point. I was really looking forward to Mechanical Engineering being fun , but it doesn't turn out that way. Is it like that in your country? I am doing my Mech. Engg in India btw.

Also what else do I expect in the future? I want to just go a bit ahead of what we are doing now so just wondering .

Engineering news on Phys.org
It's always better to understand what you will be asking others to try and do. Understanding the manufacturing methods will let you understand why certain parts might be more cost effective/feasible.

Another reason can be that if you are designing something that someone has to use (especially if it's not very often) it helps to understand that it needs to be operable. In the chemical industry I have seen many times where something that somebody thought was practical was completely useless (ie a bypass for a control valve that is completely inaccessible, or supports that prevent removal of equipment).

I have no idea what you can expect of your future education in India.

Mechanical Engineering is fun...just make sure u do not miss the KEYWORDS ur Prof use :)

1. What are the benefits of pursuing mechanical engineering in India?