Average GPA for Engineering Freshman in College?

In summary, a 3.1 GPA is good at Georgia Tech and should be a goal for the freshman year. Even if it is not the highest possible GPA, it is still good enough to graduate with honors and have good job prospects.
salzrah
Hey, I attend Georgia Tech and I am completing my freshman year here. I am probably going to end up with a 3.1 - 3.3 GPA this year. I was wondering whether this is poor, average, or good. Keep in mind that my major is Electrical Engineering which is considered to be one of the hardest majors at Georgia Tech. I just hope I don't ruin any potential Co-Op or internship opportunities later on because my GPA is bad. Any feedback is appreciated, thanks!

~salzrah

Physics news on Phys.org
We have no way of knowing what the average GPA is at Georgia Tech. Why would it even matter, anyways? Your goal is to get the highest grades possible. It doesn't look like you're even close to meeting that goal.

Here's a heuristic for engineering majors, generalized for all colleges on 4.0 grading scale:

2.0< GPA <3.0 is not competitive for graduate school, but you'll graduate (Cs get degrees!) and will still likely find work*
>3.0 is good prospects for graduate school*, competitive for industry*
>3.5 is excellent prospects for graduate school*, highly competitive for industry*
>3.8 is superlative prospects for any career goal* (law/med school anyone?)

*assuming good fit with interests, personality, and project/research experiences - Essentially, grades are only one part of the picture.

Last edited:
salzrah said: