Second sound in superfluids

• Thread starter armandowww
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sound
In summary, the second sound speed is determined by the density of the superfluid relative to the normal fluid, and is determined by the thermomechanical effect.
armandowww
Who knows a simple way to deal with temperature wave propagation in helium II? And how about storical experimental hallmarks and Landau prediction of the second sound velocity? That's a dangerous contest for me... Thanks every reader. :bugeye:

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey, I'm also looking for information on this topic. I did a small project reporting on the theories of second sound, but that was a couple of years ago and I didn't go into much detail at the time. I am now a physics 1st year undergrad, and I'm trying to get my head round it again. I've been referring to Tilley & Tilley (1990), but any extra help would be appreciated. I basically need to explain the concept to a group of my peers, so an explanation with a level of detail aimed at reasonably clever 18-year-olds would be good. Cheers!

The liquid He4 is boson gas, so at 2.17K they condensate in a new phase called superfluid. Landau model, or two liquid model, states that the normal and the superfluid phases coexist, but below this temperature the superfluid density is bigger. This idea is the same that Landau uses to explain superconductivity, because both phases has many points in common.
The superfluid part, has two main characteristics: zero entropy and zero viscosity.

When the superfluid is heated all the superfluid is expelled of the heated region, due to its lack of entropy. This could be seen in the Fountain effect. This fact is the origin of the second sound, because when somen heat source is applied into the superfluid, it behaves like a pression wave (like sound) expelling the superfluid phase and admiting when the heat is gone. The speed of the movement depends on the density of the fluid.