Critical density of water - phase transitions

In summary, the critical density, d[c], is the density at the critical point where the liquid and gas coexistence curve terminate. At this point, the density is the same for both phases. The order parameter, d[fluid]-d[c], is used to describe the difference in density between the fluid and the critical density. The critical density is not a constant value and can be calculated using an equation of state. At the critical point, the pressure-density isotherms have a slope of zero and the second derivative of pressure with respect to density is also zero.
TheDestroyer
Hello people,

I'm studying now phase transitions. I saw that the order parameter of water gas-liquid transition is the d[g]-d[c] or d[l]-d[c].

where
d[g] is gas density
d[l] is liquid density
d[c] is the critical density

Can someone please elaborate more about the critical density?
what is it?
how can it be a factor between both transitions from liquid-gas and gas-liquid, I mean is it the same for both transitions?
if yes, then how can both become zero in the phase transition on each side of the critical temperature? and is there some theoretical way to calculate the critical density?

Thank you :)

Physics news on Phys.org
TheDestroyer said:
Hello people,

I'm studying now phase transitions. I saw that the order parameter of water gas-liquid transition is the d[g]-d[c] or d[l]-d[c].

where
d[g] is gas density
d[l] is liquid density
d[c] is the critical density

Can someone please elaborate more about the critical density?
what is it?
how can it be a factor between both transitions from liquid-gas and gas-liquid, I mean is it the same for both transitions?
if yes, then how can both become zero in the phase transition on each side of the critical temperature? and is there some theoretical way to calculate the critical density?

Thank you :)