Planetary gears on passenger vehicles?

In summary: Thanks much! I've got just one more question, only slightly related, but I assume anyone looking at this thread would be able to answer with ease; When measuring the radius of a gear, would you measure to the tip of a gear tooth, or just to the edge of the circle that the teeth lay on? or perhaps both depending on what youre measuring for?You would measure to the tip of the gear tooth.
pnorm91
so, I'm a mechanical engineering student, fairly new at it though. I have a really strong real world grasp of mechanical principles, and really enjoy doing things like auto repair (consequently, my schedule is often interrupted by folks that know this fact, and want cheap auto repair) so with that in mind, please bear with me in this post, as with any others I may make in the future, should I use an incorrect term, or have a difficult time articulating my ideas.

now, I was watching the modern marvels episode about monster trucks. They mentioned the fact that they use planetary gears on the each wheel since they are so large. which got me thinking; if this helps drive the wheels easier, why would the same not be true of passenger vehicles? If a planetary gear can be used to make each wheel turn easier, would this not improve the efficiency of the vehicle thus improving the gas mileage? just a thought :uhh:

Engineering news on Phys.org
You've got to think about the different factors involved. Rather than just give you the answers I'll ask a few leading questionsm, as you'll be able to answer this yourself.

What does the planetary set in the wheel actually do?
Why would this be needed on something with very high torque outputs and high inertia (of the body and wheel)? (Think driveshafts)
Does a passenger car have this requirement?

Also first and foremost passenger cars have to be comfortable and cheap. What would the consequences be of replacing a single final drive with two/four planetary reduction sets in each wheel?