Preparing for Upper Division Math: Tips and Suggestions?

• Thread starter torquerotates
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker plans to take upper division math classes next year, including linear algebra and probability. They will self-study probability as they have not seen it before, but are concerned about their lack of experience with proofs. They are considering self-studying real analysis to improve their abstraction abilities and avoid being bored in the fall. They ask for suggestions and are advised to practice doing proofs.
torquerotates
Next year I'm going to be taking some upper div math classes( linear algebra, probability). I'm going to be self studying for probability because I've never seen any of it before. But the real problem is that I've never done lots of proofs before. Right now I'm thinking about self-studying real analysis to build my abstraction abilities. The reason being I don't want to be bored out of my mind seeing the same material again during fall( I'm already doing the same for probability, wouldn't want to do the same for linear since I already took an lower div intro to LA. So selfstudying LA would make taking it in the fall, somewhat my third time) What do you guys think? Any other suggestions?

Physics news on Phys.org
Practice doing proofs. Proofs, proofs and lots of proofs. And then do a few more proofs.