What is the point of attempt of solution?

• Thread starter darksyesider
  • Start date
In summary, a physics student self studying often has problems with very difficult questions. If they don't get an answer from the answer key, they try to work it out on their own. If they can't figure it out, they post the question on a forum for other people to help them. However, the person usually doesn't have any success after they get the help.
darksyesider
I am a physics student self studying. Often, I do 100s of textbook problems at once, and only rely on the answer key to the odd solutions at the back of the book. If I don't' get it, I try to work it out on my own. Sometimes I come across a very difficult question which I have no idea how to attempt. SInce I have no one to ask, I post them on forums. Most of the time I don't' even know how to start. However, after seeing the solution, it all makes sense.

The problem here is that it takes a long time to post "Attempt at solution's" when i have zero progress Also, when people comment on threads, they don't give a solution--they give hints to guide you (which gets annoying since I am already fed up at this point with zero progress on a problem!). So i guess what I'm saying is that is there a forum or somewhere where I can post a question, and get the FULL solution to it?
The homework forum is probably the worst place since everyone assumes that it's your homework, and they want to 'help' you with it.
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you've made ZERO progress, with several lines of inquiry failing, why should you keep those lines in the dark to PF and get annoyed when somebody gives you a hint you already think failed?

It is actually up to YOU to detail what you've tried, and failed at.

We are not mind readers here, so we don't know all you've tried. You must show us that.