Force of Object on Inclined Place

In summary, the conversation involves a student seeking help for a final exam question that involves finding the acceleration of a crate on an inclined plane. The student is struggling with finding the correct answer and believes they may be making a mistake in calculating the force of gravity. The correct answer for the acceleration is 3.67 m/s^2 in the absence of friction and 0.95 m/s^2 if the coefficient of kinetic friction is 0.0.
paigegail
I need extra help. I'm studying for my Final Exam which is tomorrow and I cannot remember how to find forces of objects on an inclined plane. The question I'm having troubles with is:
A 12.5 kg crate is placed on a ramp that is at an angle of 22 degrees from the horizontal. Find the acceleration of the crate would be down the ramp:
a) in the absence of friction (answer 3.67 m/s-squared down slope)
b) if the coefficient of kinetic friction is 0.0 (0.95 m/s-squared down slope)
I have tried this and I know that I need to find the force of Gravity that is parallel to the direction the box is going. But I keep getting like 347 and then an answer of like 20.0 something m/s-squared. What am I doing wrong?

Physics news on Phys.org
You should be doing this:
122.5sin22 = 45.9N or 45.9kg m/s^2

Fnet = ma
a = Fnet/m
a = (45.9kg m/s^2)/(12.5kg)
a = 3.67 m/s^2

Finding the forces on an inclined plane can be a tricky concept, especially when there are different scenarios involved such as the presence or absence of friction. Here are some steps that may help you in solving this problem:

1. Draw a free body diagram: This will help you visualize all the forces acting on the crate. Draw a horizontal line to represent the surface of the inclined plane and then draw a line representing the crate, with its weight acting downwards and the normal force acting perpendicular to the surface.