What Are Viruses: Exploring the Basics

• Thread starter noagname
  • Start date
In summary, a virus is able to enter cells and hijack their machinery to replicate, causing symptoms like fever and runny noses. Antibiotics are designed to kill bacteria, which are independent living cells. Both viruses and bacteria come in many different types and can be difficult to eliminate due to their ability to evolve and adapt.
noagname
I am new at this but i want to make sure i know what i am talking about
I have researched this but i haven't gotten a straight answer

1. When you get sick(common cold/virus) what happens?
Does virus go into each cell and take its nutrients.
Then after that does it keep on spreading and then your body tries to kill it and then you get fever and runny stuffy nose.
2. When you take antibiotics how does it kill bacteria?

and are there different types of bacteria so wouldn't they be the same as viruses

Also i remember long ago i heard one of them was living is that true or not.

Biology news on Phys.org
1] Virii, because they are bits of DNA, are able to sneak past cells defenses and enter the cell. There, they hijack the cell's machinery and force the cell to start reproducing the virus' DNA. When your body begins sensing these foreign bodies, the defense system is activated - the one we notice most is a big increase in histamines, which pump fluids into your tissues and mucous membranes. This is designed to (belatedly) trap more irritants entering the body.

2] Antibiotics are carefully chosen poisons that target bacteria. They interfere with the bacterium's ability to work, such as constructing its cell wall. This is also why antibiotics don't work on virii - virii are not working machinery.

There are as many kinds of virus as there are bacteria.

Virii are on the verge of life. Many consider them non-life. They are simply bits of DNA. They cannot work without hijacking a living cell.

Last edited:
so if well where do these virii attack