Can G-Parity Explain the Dominance of Vector Current in Tau Decay?

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of the decay width for the \tau \rightarrow \rho \; \nu_{\tau} decay using a parameterization of the matrix element of the hadronic current. The matrix element is found to have both vector and axial current terms, but it is expected that only the vector current term will contribute due to the spin 1 nature of the \rho meson. The conversation then raises the question of how to formally demonstrate this exclusion of the axial term, and suggests using G-parity transformation as a possible explanation. Additional articles and resources are also mentioned for further understanding.
GWSguy
I'm studying the [itex] \tau \rightarrow \rho \; \nu_{\tau} [/itex] decay. I'm asked to calculate the decay width, using a parameterization of the matrix element of the hadronic current. I actually find a matrix element of the form:
[tex] \left<\rho |\; \bar{u} \gamma^{\mu} \left( 1-\gamma^{5} \right ) d \; | 0\right> [/tex]
in which I have both the vector and the axial current (u and d are up and down quarks). The [itex] \rho [/itex] meson is a spin 1 vector meson, so I expect that only the term from the vector current survives. I've infact verified this statement in many articles which report:
[tex] \left<\rho |\; \bar{u} \gamma^{\mu} d \; | 0\right> = f_{\rho} m_{\rho} \epsilon ^{\mu} [/tex]
with [itex]\epsilon ^{\mu} [/itex] the polarization vector of the meson.

The problem is that I'm not able to demonstrate it. How can I formally demonstrate it? Is there any parity argument which allows me to exclude the axial term?

Physics news on Phys.org
Last edited by a moderator: