Photovoltaic cell as an on/off switch - circuit help

In summary, the individual is seeking help in building a circuit using a photovoltaic cell to turn a handheld camera on and off. They are unsure of the terminology and the issue is that the on/off switch only sends one pulse when pressed, while the photovoltaic cell constantly sends a signal when there is light and no signal when there is no light. The solution suggested is to use a comparator circuit and a one-shot to convert the constant signal into "on" and "off" pulses.
n1ftyneil
Photovoltaic cell as an "on/off" switch - circuit help

Hi all,

My first post here. I'm a Mechanical Engineer prodding my finger where it shouldn't be - circuits! I need help and I am hoping you folks can. PLEASE excuse the umb terminology - I don't know this world well!

I want to turn a handheld camera on/off with a photovoltaic cell and am trying to build a circuit to do so. My problem is this. The on/off switch that I have sends one pulse when you press it on and one when you press it off i.e there is not constantly a signal coming from that switch. However, with the photovoltaic cell, when the light is there, I obviously always have an signal coming and when the light is off, there is nothing.

I need help with what I need to wire inbetween to convert that constant signal so it is recognised as an "on" and that when that constant signal stops, it is registered as turning off.

I'm imagining this is pretty simple?

Many thanks!

Neil

Engineering news on Phys.org

You could use a comparator circuit on the photocell output (using op-amps) to trigger a one-shot (using flip-flops) to give the pulses.

great! Thanks for the comments. No idea what that stuff is but I'm off to google it all.

1. How does a photovoltaic cell work as an on/off switch?