Which MSc program is the best fit for me?

• Thread starter yoran
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Msc
In summary, the speaker is a bachelor student in Computer Science in Belgium and is unsure of which MSc program to pursue next. They are considering computer science, computer engineering, embedded systems, and electrical engineering, but each program has drawbacks that make it difficult to make a decision. They are seeking advice and clarification on job prospects and specialized knowledge within each field.
yoran
Hi,

I am currently a bachelor student in Computer Science in Belgium. For the Americans here, a BSc is like undergraduate but takes only 3 years. I am really hesitating what MSc to pursue next. The university I want to go to offers 4 programs that interest me:
- computer science
- computer engineering
- embedded systems
- electrical engineering

Nearly each program has a drawback for me and that's why I can't make up my mind. Maybe you guys can help me out.

Computer Science would be the logical continuation for me as currently I'm a Computer Science student. However, during my studies I found out that I would like to know more about hardware aspects and a MSc in Computer Science focuses almost entirely on software. Plus, I really don't see myself programming every day for the rest of my life (I know that I can eventually go into management as I grow into a company, but still it will take me a couple of years until I get there).
For those previous reasons, I think Computer Engineering suits me better. However, I am afraid the job prospects aren't as good as Computer Science. I haven't seen much job offers where they are looking specifically for a computer engineer (i.e, someone who knows about hardware). It is interesting to know about computer architecture and all but I don't think they are many jobs which require this knowledge.