I can't understand most of the topics on my Linear Algebra Book.

In summary: I will check out those books. In summary, the book or the person is the problem when trying to learn linear algebra.
sarah22
I don't know if the book or I'm the one is the problem .

Last day, I borrowed a book titled Linear Algebra, 2nd Edition - Kenneth Hoffmann And Ray Kunze. Then tried to read most of the topics there but didn't get most of it.

I studied Calculus by my own and understand most of it. But when I tried to study Linear Algebra, it really burned my brain up. Can anyone give me some tips on how to study this subject? Do you have any good book for a self-teach man like me? I'm studying this topic on my own because my university didn't offer this class but I really need it for game programming. That's the reason why I borrowed a book and will teach myself with it.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would get a different book. I haven't looked at that book myself but from what I understand, it's for a second course in linear algebra that goes on to do things like work over an arbitrary field and such.

I first learned linear algebra from "Linear Algebra: An introduction to abstract mathematics" by Robert Valenza. If you study that book then you will be well grounded in the core theory of linear algebra. It omits some practical stuff, for instance it focuses on matrices as linear transformations and omits LU-decomposition and stuff like that but you're only going to be dealing with 4x4 matrices anyways.

If you can't find that book, just pick another book on linear algebra from a library or something. You can do better than the one that you have for an introduction from what I understand.

Two important things a beginner should learn are:
Solving systems of linear equations using matrix row reduction
Linear Transformations (basic concepts like range and null space, dimension theorem)