The speed of a bullet may be determined by allowing the bullet to pass throu

In summary, the speed of a bullet can be determined by allowing it to pass through two rotating paper disks mounted a distance d apart. By using the angular displacement Δθ of the two bullet holes in the disks and the rotational speed of the disks, the speed of the bullet can be calculated using the equation v = d/Δt. In the given problem, the bullet speed is approximately 139 m/s.
XxBollWeevilx
[SOLVED] The speed of a bullet may be determined by allowing the bullet to pass throu

Hello! I am new here and this is my first time posting...I am working on a physics problem and I have been stumped on it for a while now. Any hints would be greatly appreciated.

Homework Statement

The speed of a moving bullet can be determined by allowing the bullet to pass through two rotating paper disks mounted a distance d apart on the same axle. From the angular displacement Δθ of the two bullet holes in the disks and the rotational speed of the disks, we can determine the speed v of the bullet. Find the bullet speed for the following data:

d=80 cm, ω=900 rev/min, and Δθ=31º.

Homework Equations

My initial thought was that I would need to use the rotational kinematics formulas in some way or another:
1. ω = ω(initial) + αt
2. θ = θ(initial) + 1/2(ω + ω(initial))t
3. θ = θ(initial) + ω(initial)t + 1/2αt^2
4. ω^2 = ω(initial)^2 + 2α(θ - θ(initial))

to somehow get t, and then use the horizontal displacement over t to find v, the velocity of the bullet.

The Attempt at a Solution