What is an octal buffer and how is it used in electronic circuits?

• Thread starter iggybaseball
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Buffer
In summary, the octal buffer is a unity gain amplifier that can be used to connect a source that cannot tolerate a lot of current (like a magnetic stripe reader) to another load that requires a lot of current (like a capacitive load). It provides a "buffer" between the two devices.
iggybaseball
Hello, I am new to electronics and have been reading as much as I can about the subject when time permits. I am doing a project to make an adapter to hook a ttl magnetic swipe reader to my computer via the gaming port. There are also plans to make an adapter that would allow you to connect it to the parrallel port. One of the components of the parrallel adapter is an octal buffer. I do not understand what this component does. Anyone?

Engineering news on Phys.org
A buffer is temporary storage component (like RAM), where data is gated n-bits at a time. A good example using the parallel port, is the printer. The printer is slower at printing than the electronic flow of bits (hi and low signals) through the parallel port. This is especially true for pixel intensive images. So the buffer holds the data until the printer has finished its operation on the last group of data, then gates in some more.

Octal refers to base-8 numbering system. This can be represented in binary numbers using 3-bits. (0 to 7, represented by 000 to 111).

Looking at the specs for an http://www.semiconductors.philips.com/acrobat_download/datasheets/74F540_541_2.pdf (base-16, represented by 0 to F), which is very common for computer apps, you can represent them in binary from 0000=0 to 1111=F. You can input any number in hex (0 to F) using 4-bits and an octal buffer can accept two 4-bit inputs. (To represent a single octal number, you would only need 3 input lines).

Last edited by a moderator: