How much does an internship help?

• Thread starter pete5383
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Internship
In summary, the conversation discusses the value of internships, GPA, and work experience for job and graduate school applications. It is agreed that internships are highly beneficial and can offset a lower GPA. A high GPA is still important for graduate school, but work experience and recommendations can also hold a lot of weight. Ultimately, employers are most interested in an applicant's ability to perform well on the job and make them money, rather than just their grades.
pete5383
Hey everyone. I'm a sophomore in Electrical Engineering, and I just received an amazing internship with a major energy company, and I have a slightly abstract question to ask. How much is this internship going to help me when I'm looking for a job or applying to a good grad school (I plan on attending grad school directly after my undergrad)? For instance, let's say a company is looking at two new graduates, Student A, and Student B. Their credentials looks like:

Student A
---------
4.0 GPA

Student B
---------
X.XX GPA
3 years of interning

What would Student B's GPA have to be to be to make these two candidates equal? I guess, the question I'm getting at is how much will an internship "wow" employers? Would experience offset a lower GPA, like a 2.0-3.0, or is it only a nice bonus that should be on top of a high GPA (greater than 3.8)? This might be a tough, unanswerable question, but I'd like to get a sense of how much good I'm doing myself? By the way, I absolutely LOVE the job, it's everything I imagined the industry would be :) So I'm not just doing it for a resume builder...Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, to be frank. It shows that student A can handle the material, and student B cant. But nothing is set in stone. Just do as best a job you can.

If you don't get in the first go around, you can get a job, work, then go back. Its not the end of the world.