Chemical Engineer Major: Math vs Chemistry for Employment

In summary, a Chemical Engineering major with a focus on math will have a greater emphasis on mathematical concepts and applications, while a focus on chemistry will have a heavier emphasis on fundamental chemistry principles in the field of engineering. Both majors can lead to employment in the field of Chemical Engineering, with demand varying depending on industry and location. While certain industries may require a strong mathematical background, both majors can be employed in a variety of fields. Additionally, critical thinking, problem-solving, attention to detail, and strong mathematical and analytical skills are important for all Chemical Engineering majors, along with a solid understanding of chemistry principles and their applications in engineering.
JoshHolloway
Hello all. I am currently in my first year of a chemical engineering program and I was talking to someone in the Chemical Engineering section of this forum and he said that partial differential equations is very important for Chem E's. He actually said that I should not even thing about graduating without taking this class. He made it sound EXTREMELY important. Well, my question is whether or not such a high level of mathematics is nessesary for a chemical engineer. Would I really use partial differential equations in the field?