Looking for any and all advice

• Thread starter twotaileddemon
  • Start date
In summary, this student is struggling with physics and does not understand the material. He has taken classes and is currently taking electrodynamics II, but is struggling. He does not know how to approach the material and is lost. He wants to get back on track and is worried about his future in physics.
twotaileddemon
Hi everyone...

I just turned 19 and I am a sophomore in college, soon to be junior. I have always been interested in physics since 9th grade, because I had a teacher that really captivated my interest and motivated me to do well. When I went to college, I declared a major in physics and more recently a double major in math, because I love math and it is always used in physics.

My first year of college went great. I got A's in all my physics courses and understood everything. Given, it was very simple and basic, but it kept my interest. I took classes such as "Physics with calculus I and II" and "modern physics," which were pretty similar although modern physics went more in depth only on certain topics.

Then in my sophomore year of college... everything became so confusing! I am currently taking electrodynamics II (took electrodynamics I in the fall) as it was the only course offered that I could take this semester. I am struggling so badly and I don't know how to approach it anymore. I'm using a text called "Griffiths Introduction to Electrodynamics," but I really can't understand any of his examples and his writing style is very boring and confusing! In addition, I feel like there are a lot of concepts I'm missing because I was forced to take a junior-level class since my school offered ZERO sophomore-level physics classes during my sophomore year (ugh!) ... so I haven't taken classes like electronics or quantum mechanics which I probably should have.