What could be causing the error in my AMPAC semi-empirical calculation?

• Thread starter rvm
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation is about an undergraduate student learning about computational chemistry and encountering an error message while using AMPAC semi-empirical methods to model a reaction. The error message is related to reading vibrational frequency data and may be caused by various reasons. The student is seeking clarification on the calculation settings used.
rvm
Hello,

I am an undergraduate student being introduced to the world of computational chemistry. I am modeling a reaction using AMPAC semi-empirical methods, and the output file included an error message. I would appreciate some insight.

The calculation is a chain calculation connecting two structures corresponding to a partial rotation of a molecular rotor. The calculation completed and marked two nodes as potential transition states (node 5 and node 8). Node 5 had two negative vibrations, Node 8 had a single large negative vibration.

My calculation settings:
pm6 rhf singlet fullchn lforce t=auto

Error message:
CconnectionAOut::GetAmpacVibrationData()
Bad Vibration = 8
Line Number 6495

Thank you,

RVM

Chemistry news on Phys.org
rvm said:
Hello,

I am an undergraduate student being introduced to the world of computational chemistry. I am modeling a reaction using AMPAC semi-empirical methods, and the output file included an error message. I would appreciate some insight.

The calculation is a chain calculation connecting two structures corresponding to a partial rotation of a molecular rotor. The calculation completed and marked two nodes as potential transition states (node 5 and node 8). Node 5 had two negative vibrations, Node 8 had a single large negative vibration.

My calculation settings:
pm6 rhf singlet fullchn lforce t=auto

Error message:
CconnectionAOut::GetAmpacVibrationData()
Bad Vibration = 8
Line Number 6495

Thank you,

RVM