Masters vs Experience: Electrical Engineering Undergraduate

In summary, the conversation discussed the difference between having work experience and going straight to a Master's degree after completing an undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering. The consensus was that work experience can make a candidate more desirable to employers, but a Master's degree can also open up opportunities for more challenging and higher paying jobs. It was also mentioned that internships can provide valuable work experience and networking opportunities. Ultimately, the decision should be based on individual goals and circumstances.
evra
I am an Undergraduate Electrical Engineering student. I want to know what is the difference between having work experience (like five years), then do masters and going straight to masters after an undergraduate degree? Which one is more advisable and why?

Hope to read your valuable inputs and thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Experience will make you a better Electrical Engineer, but having a Masters will give the company you work for one more excuse to not lay you off, I would imagine. This thread needs more input than mine...

thank you, sir. can other people too help in putting what they think or what they know, please.

evra said:
I am an Undergraduate Electrical Engineering student. I want to know what is the difference between having work experience (like five years), then do masters and going straight to masters after an undergraduate degree? Which one is more advisable and why?

Hope to read your valuable inputs and thanks in advance

Look at this question as an employer would. Suppose you have two qualified candidates to choose from - both have Master's degrees, but one has five years of documented work experience. In most cases, the candidate with work experience would be the safer choice.