Extremely Basic Question Regarding Time Dilation

In summary: B is observing A's clock as if it were his own, then the answer would be no, because B's own clock would be ticking at the same rate as A's.
Capngarrett
Hi all

I am new to relativity, and through the books that I have chosen to learn the subject (that cater to my level) I seemed to be following with ease. However, I was posed with a simple question that I could not answer, and whatever it is, the thing that I am overlooking still eludes me.

Consider two observers moving relative to each other on an inertial frame of reference. Gravitational and other external effects aside, each observer considers himself to be at rest on his own rigid body and believes the other to be in motion. I have been told numerous times that each person witnesses the other experiencing a slower rate of time than their own.

Now, imagine two people at one point on the circumference of a large circle. Person A remains at rest while person B accelerates along the circumference until he is at the furthest point from A, and then decelerates on the way back to meet him. The Twins Paradox tells us that person B's clock would show an earlier time than A's when compared. This would mean that B would have (if he could) witnessed A's clock ticking at a faster rate than his own.

My question to you is, which example is correct? and (pre-emptively) if both are true, then what is the difference?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Capngarrett, welcome to PF!

The resolution is the same as the twin-paradox itself. Person B has aged less than Person A. One reference frame (person B) is not an inertial reference frame, it has been accelerating (as you point out). Accelerating reference frames behave differently, and require a 'general' relativistic treatment.

Hope that helps

Of course! How did I miss it? I was practically answering my own question but didn't make the connection.

Thanks for the speedy resolution, I expected no less :approve: