Revising Activity Series for Elements: A Personal Endeavor

In summary, the author is discussing the differences between the activity series and the electronegativity and ionization energies of the elements. He notes that there are only three measuring scales for electronegativity, and that all of them have a mathematical basis. He is looking for a unitless number to use as a correction factor for the activity series, and is grateful for the information provided by the other person.
pearbear21
All right, before reading this, please understand that I am only in my second year of study in high school. Bear with me...

When looking at the activity series or metals and comparing it to the electronegativity and ionization energies of the elements, I noticed something quite interesting that I would like to tweak on my own accord. I won't go into the details here, but it deals with creating a revised table of activities for the elements based on a more solid approach. None of this is for school, simply personal endeavor.

Now, what I need to know is HOW Pauling developed his scale mathematically and in case it is as arbitrary as it seems, I would like to know of any other valid measurements of electronegativity that have come to be. Why I ask for these, is to find a scale that has some sort of REAL unit. I need a real unit that I could compare to the kJ/mol measurement of ionization energy, allowing subtraction possibly. I can't work with them the way they are, obviously. It's like adding apples and oranges.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Are you asking for a measurement of electronegativity in kJ mol-1?

Well anyway, I think there are only three measuring scales: The Mulliken scale, The Pauling scale and The Allred-Rochow scale.

Try looking:
http://www.ausetute.com.au/bondpola.html
http://www.ucdsb.on.ca/tiss/stretton/Database/electronegativity.htm [Broken]

I can't say I fully understand why or what you are looking for but I will try to help.

The Bob (2004 ©)