How do aircraft fly upside down?

• Thread starter paddy-boy66
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Aircraft
In summary, an aircraft can theoretically fly up side down, but it is inefficient and there are structural and engine limitations.
paddy-boy66
Can anybody tell me how aircraft fly up side down? I'm an under grad aero student and can't see how aircraft do. Can any aircraft theoretically fly up side down?:smile:

Engineering news on Phys.org
paddy-boy66 said:
Can anybody tell me how aircraft fly up side down? I'm an under grad aero student and can't see how aircraft do. Can any aircraft theoretically fly up side down?:smile:
You just need to adjust the angle of attack (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angle_of_attack)

Aerodynamically, yes, any aircraft can fly upside down, but for most ut is very innefficient. Also, some have structural limitations that won't take the strain, and many have engine limitations that will stop the flow of fuel.

but doesn't the resultant lift always act in one direction relative to the "upper" surface so if its upside down won't the "lift" be downwards? Am i being stupid in saying this?:confused:

Angle of attack's like sticking your hand out of the car window - if you tilt your hand, you feel the force upwards or downwards - same for a plane.

paddy-boy66 said:
but doesn't the resultant lift always act in one direction relative to the "upper" surface so if its upside down won't the "lift" be downwards? Am i being stupid in saying this?:confused:
No, you've fallen prey to the most pervasive fallacy in aerodynamics - the Equal Transit Time fairy tale. Google that phrase, and you'll find many places that show how it's wrong.

That having been said, aeroplanes that are designed for aerobatic manoeuvres have specialized wings, control surfaces, and engines. Stagger-wing biplanes are particularly well-suited to it.

paddy-boy66 said:
Can any aircraft theoretically fly up side down?:smile: