What are the prerequisites for learning Linear Algebra?

In summary, if you want to learn Linear and Abstract Algebra, you should first be familiar with real and complex numbers, and understand the concept of functions. There are no strict prerequisites for either Linear or Abstract Algebra, but if you want to learn it well, you should also study calculus of vector functions and group theory. Some books that may be helpful are Axler, Trotter, Crowell, and Williamson's "Calculus of Vector Functions", Pinter and Herstein's "Introduction to Linear Algebra", and Hoffman/Kunze's "Real Linear Algebra".
AkshayV
I'm a high school student and mostly I love maths as a hobby and try to learn advanced topics. I'm in 11th grade and have finished most of high school algebra and calculus and want to learn Linear and Abstract Algebra. So, what are the prerequisites? And which one should I do before -Linear or Abstract? And what are some books that might be of help? (Please don't say Michael Artin!)

Physics news on Phys.org
I would say that you only need familiarity with real and complex numbers, and an understanding of the concept of functions...but those things may be explained in the book too.

Everyone studies linear algebra first, and abstract algebra at some later time (if they study it at all). I recommend that you do the same. There is nothing that really prevents you from doing it the other way round, but linear algebra is a bit easier and much more useful both for physicists and mathematicians.

Regarding books, I only know that I like Axler, and dislike Anton a lot. However, micromass seems to have given it a lot more thought, so you might want to check out his https://www.physicsforums.com/blog.php?b=3206 about it. (Apparently the book to read is the one by Friedberg, Insel & Spence).

Last edited by a moderator:
AkshayV said: