How to avoid feeling frustrated when facing with so much unkown knowledge?

• Thread starter arielleon
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Knowledge
In summary, the individual in the conversation is a third grade undergraduate student who has been struggling with research in a theoretical condensed matter group at their university. They often find themselves overwhelmed with the amount of information and terminology in their field, and wonder if this is a common struggle among researchers. However, they also recognize the importance of constantly learning and see it as a positive aspect of being a good researcher. One possible solution to this issue could be for journals to include a section for suggested reading materials in published manuscripts.
arielleon
I am now a third grade undergraduate student. I do fair job in my studies. Now I have been in a theorectical condensed matter group in my university to learn how to do researches. But after a whole year, I still find that when I want to run into a topic, say Berry phase, or higgs mechanism, I always dig out endless materials. Sometimes I learn much. But in many case, I find myself lost in some "forbbidden" knowledge forrest and pay a lot of time but get to know nothing except some abstract terminologies. As this happens again and again, I feel really frustrated when facing something new. So I want to ask: Is doing research really that hard? Then how do physicists get into the field and seldomly feel bad? Thx a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
You seem to view the fact that there's always something more to learn as a negative. Good researchers view it as a positive.

fss said:
You seem to view the fact that there's always something more to learn as a negative. Good researchers view it as a positive.

I love to learn new things. But I hate to be lost in new things. It seems that I spend a lot of time and learn little. And I wonder if this is a common thing or not when doing research.