Is it worth staying in college an extra semester to double major?

In summary, the speaker is a second semester freshman who has declared a Physics BS and a minor in cognitive science. They are considering adding a Computer Science BS as a second major and have calculated that they can complete it by staying an extra semester and taking 17 credits per semester. The speaker's first semester GPA was 2.80 and they expect their second semester GPA to be 3.71. They are unsure of their career goals but are interested in research in neuroscience and believe that having both a physics and computer science major would be beneficial. The cost of tuition without dorm fees is $3300 and the speaker's father has invested in GE stock to cover their last year of tuition. The speaker is seeking guidance and opinions on whether it
mariexotoni
I'm a second semester freshman, and maybe I'm getting ahead of myself, but..

Right now, I've declared a Physics BS and a minor in cognitive science. I've been thinking about declaring another major- Computer Science BS. i did some math and saw that some classes canceled out with each other, and if I stayed an extra semester- I could complete this by doing 17 credits per semester.
First semester gpa is like a 2.80
my second semester gpa should be about 3.71

I don't really know what specific career I want, but I dream of doing research in neuroscience and I feel like to be a good physicist, you should be good with computers. And in neurology, computers are really important- I feel like doing both majors are necessary.
And it probably doesn't make a big difference with the cog minor, but I think cog courses helps me to grow a lot and goes along with the field I want to end up in anyways...I wouldn't be living on campus after sophomore year- so just tuition and fees (dorming fees subtracted) is like 3300 bucks.

so is it worth it?