Double major in computer and electrical engineering

In summary, the conversation is discussing whether or not the individual should double major in computer engineering and electrical engineering. They are wondering about the importance of this double major in terms of job opportunities and graduate school applications, as well as the difficulty and worth of potentially taking an extra year to complete both majors. The expert suggests that while it may be difficult to double major, it is possible to fill in electives with courses from the other major. They also advise that the individual should focus on studying what they are interested in rather than what they think will look good on their resume.
sweetvirgogirl
I'm majoring in computer engineering ...
so I was wondering if I should double major by majoring in electrical engineering as well?

I think what I'm trying to ask is ...
1) What's the importance of this particular double major in terms of jobs?
2)How does it look on grad school applications?
3)Easy/Hard? If it happens to take another year, meaning 5 years in total ... is it worth it?

I'm just really confused what I should do ...
if I really want to be a computer engineer, does it mean I do not need to double major?

Just tell me whatever you know about double major in comp engr and elec engr
thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I think I also want to know what would look better on my grad school application and my resume ...
1) minor in physics and major in comp engr
OR
2) double major in computer engr and elec engr

Well, it depends on your University. At my school, there is a good amount of difference between Computer and Electrical engineering after the first 2 years. It would be VERY hard to double major.

However, it is certainly possible to fill in all of your electives with Computer engineering courses as an EE major, or vice versa.