Emission Spectra: which electrons?

In summary, a newbie to a forum is impressed by the material and has been searching for an answer to a question posed by one of their students. They have not been able to find an answer in their own texts or online, and are wondering if spectra are generated by electrons other than valence electrons. Other forum members discuss the involvement of valence electrons and other electrons in the emission spectra of complex atoms, and the possibility of observing an absorption spectrum through photon excitation. The original poster thanks those who have considered their question and asks for any online references on this topic.
Elly
I am a newbie to the forum and impressed by the breadth and depth of the material here. After searching I am unable to answer a question that I have been pondering.

One of my brightest students asked whether electrons other than the valence electrons were involved in the emission spectra of complex atoms.

Research in my own texts didn't reveal an answer, nor did research here or on the net. The closest I got suggests that spectra are usually but not always generated by transitions of the valence electrons.

http://www.daviddarling.info/encyclopedia/E/energy_level.html
http://www.800mainstreet.com/spect/spectrum.html

Can anyone confirm that spectra are generated by electrons other than the valence electrons? Any net references would also be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Elly said:
I am a newbie to the forum and impressed by the breadth and depth of the material here. After searching I am unable to answer a question that I have been pondering.

One of my brightest students asked whether electrons other than the valence electrons were involved in the emission spectra of complex atoms.

Research in my own texts didn't reveal an answer, nor did research here or on the net. The closest I got suggests that spectra are usually but not always generated by transitions of the valence electrons.