Which country for undergraduate degree?

In summary: You'll potentially be doing a job, starting a family etc, so having a degree that stands out from the rest will be less important. If you're planning on doing a PhD then you'll need to have done some research, but that's a whole different story!
annms
Hello there.

I am a high school student with a passion for physics. I want to study physics in university and have applied to several universities in the UK.

However, I've been recently told that the UK do not emphasize a lot on research...and that it would be better off for me to go study in the US, as there is more emphasis on research in the US. If I choose to go to the US I would need to take a gap year and reapply (as admissions is over this year I think)

I am more interested in the theoretical aspect of physics, and wish to take a physics and maths joint degree for my undergraduate degree. Do you guys have any advice/suggestions as to which country to go?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi,

Who ever told you that research in the US is better than the UK , made an unreasonable statement.
You can't really generalize that the US has better research, as some really awesome research is conducted in the UK, but the US has a larger number of university and hence more research (more doesn't necessarily mean better).
What it boils down to, is the school that you will be joining, good schools typically feature good lectures and good research (this depends on the faculty, funding etc...).

I am not sure about you, but I personally wouldn't want to waste a whole year waiting.

physiker.

physiker_192 said:
Hi,

Who ever told you that research in the US is better than the UK , made an unreasonable statement.
You can't really generalize that the US has better research, as some really awesome research is conducted in the UK, but the US has a larger number of university and hence more research (more doesn't necessarily mean better).