Understanding the width of the depletion region in a p-n junction

In summary, the width of the depletion region in a p-n junction is determined by the concentration of dopants on either side of the junction and the strength of the electric field. This region is essentially a barrier that prevents the flow of majority charge carriers, allowing the p-n junction to act as a diode. The width of the depletion region plays a crucial role in the functionality and efficiency of various electronic devices, as well as in the understanding of semiconductor physics. Understanding and controlling the width of the depletion region is key in the design and optimization of these devices.
skweiler
I am studying to become and electrical engineer and am currently taking Electronics I. I am having trouble understanding the change in the depletion region that results from a bias. I understand that at the time of manufacture the free electrons from the n-type semiconductor are attracted to the vacancies in the p-type semiconductor and move until the electric field produced by the newly created ions prohibits further majority carriers from crossing the junction. What I don't understand is exactly which mechanism causes the depletion region to shrink when a diode is forward biased (+ on the p-side, - on the n-side) or vice versa when reversed biased? Is the depletion region defined as the width of the region of ions surrounding the p-n junction or the gap created when a potential "pushes" or "pulls" the majority carriers towards or away from the junction? If it is defined by the ions how does the applied potential fill (or empty) more holes and thus create more (or less) ions? How do the ions and their electrons surrounding the junction react to the applied potential?

Engineering news on Phys.org
This is how I understand it, with limited knowledge of any quantum physics.

Forward bias: Negative voltage on the N-region, positive on the P-region.