Current direction in a circuit

In summary, the conversation is discussing the concept of current flow in electrical engineering and how it relates to the direction of electron flow. The conversation also touches on the speed of electricity and how it is related to the propagation of electromagnetic waves. There is a discussion about the order in which two light bulbs will light up in a circuit and how this is determined by the distance from the source. The conversation ends with a question about the behavior of current in a closed loop circuit and the role of a switch in the circuit.
Bassalisk
Greetings,

I am studying electrical engineering, and one thing puzzles me. I learned that by convention, in solving electrical problems, current is going from plus to minus(direct stable current) as a consequence of electric field lines going from plus to minus charge. Later I learned that electron flow goes from minus to plus, which is reasonable.

Now, example.

(+) ------X------X------ (-)
----------> I

Let X's be 2 light bulbs. Given the situation that we have a metal conductor and the most of the current is carried by electrons, which will light up first? I mean, they cannot light up instantly at the same time, that would imo break the speed of light.

And can you explain to me a bit more, how current "flows" i know that charges are slow and going about a half a centimeter a second, but the current is almost instant! How come?

This mainly came from experiment with LED diodes which light up only when a specific current direction is applied, anode goes to plus side and cathode is going on the minus side(if possible, explain how LED diodes work or post a link, thanks)

Thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
Water is a pretty standard analogy, so let's use that.