Classes and Programs to take in high school for a Astrophysics and Cosmology

In summary, for a high school freshman interested in astrophysics and cosmology, it is recommended to focus on a standard college-prep curriculum and excel in math and computer programming. Rather than formal classes, subscribing to amateur astronomy magazines and self-study with college textbooks is suggested as they provide more up-to-date information.
berstell
I'm currently a high school freshman in NYC and was wondering what classes I should focus on in school and what programs are available in astrophysics, cosmology, and or relating to it for someone my age?

Thanks so much.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think the standard college-prep curriculum would do just fine. One thing that you should do is to take the hardest math classes that your school offers, and get good at programming computers.

As far as astronomy and cosmology courses specifically, I think that you would be better off just subscribing to the amateur astronomy magazines (Sky and Telescope & Astronomy) and surfing the internet. The problem with formal classes is that they get very quickly out of date. You are better reading on your own. You might want to get a college textbook on astronomy and read through it on your spare time.

1. What classes should I take in high school to prepare for a career in astrophysics and cosmology?

To prepare for a career in astrophysics and cosmology, it is recommended to take advanced courses in math and science, including calculus, physics, and astronomy. Courses in computer science and coding can also be beneficial in this field. Additionally, taking electives in subjects such as geology, chemistry, and biology can give you a well-rounded understanding of the natural sciences.

2. Are there any specific programs or extracurricular activities I should participate in to enhance my knowledge in astrophysics and cosmology?