Monte Carlo Simulation of a liquid - Need help computing g(r)

In summary, the author is trying to compute the radial distribution function, but is having trouble because the function is very non-smooth. He is using an algorithm similar to the one described in the literature, but with a different approach for dealing with unbalanced g(r) values.
JRPB
EDIT: I'm not in my sharpest moment. I just found a bunch of posts that discuss this. I'll read them and update this post if I find an answer.

I'm working on a hard-sphere MC simulation (for a class). I want to compute the radial distribution function [itex]g(r)[/itex]. To put you in context, as to my non-expertise in statistical mechanics, I'm a physics senior undergrad taking the last couple of courses.

My program generates valid states for a non-periodic square box. States are computed with a restricted random walker: particles stay inside the box and do not overlap each other. I want to compute thermodynamic quantities. My ignorance led me to believe (taking equiprobability of micro-states for granted) that sampling such states is equivalent to working with an NVE ensemble. I asked one of my professors about this connection and realized that it's not that simple.

I learned that you can use the RDF to compute some of these quantities. This leads me to my current predicament. How do I compute this function? I tried the literature and couldn't make heads or tails of the definition. As a stab-in-the-dark I tried my own method to see if I could reproduce some of the good looking RDFs around. I came up with an RDFesque function. Far from smooth.

My algorithm:

1) Surround the box with 8 replicas (same particle state, just displaced)
2) Pick a random particle from the original set
3) Compute the maximum circumference (centered at the particle) that fits inside the 9 boxes.
4) Create a circular shell of radii: r, r+dr and count all the particles' centers that lie within this shell.