Eng undergrad and Physics grad

In summary, an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering can lead to a successful transition to graduate school in physics, provided that you demonstrate your ability and interest in the field.
rettix
Hi all, new guy here. I am an electrical engineering major but I have really falling in love with physics, astrophysics specifically. I would like to change my major to physics but I am really too far along in my current degree so I decided to just minor in it. I am curious what kind of chances I would have of getting into graduate school for physics with an engineering undergraduate degree. Does anybody here have any first hand experience to pass along? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Nobody? I'm just curious if this is even possible or realistic.

I have no authentic comment on this becuse I am just an undergrad in mechanical engineering.
But it sounds NOT impossible for me as long as you demonstrate your interest as well as ability in physics. It will be great if you could participate in some physics research during your undergraduate? This is to convince the admission committee of the physiics department that you do have the ability to do research in physics.
I think this is the most important thing the admission committee will care.
Say, if someone with an undergrad in Translation just found a way to prove that Einstein's theory is wrong, I do think he/she will get admitted by the best grad schools still. But perhaps he/she will be required to take some advanced undergrad courses during his/her graduate studies.
Again, these are just my personal comments, not authentic at all. Hope someone else could give better replies.

Well...I'm an astrophysics grad student, so I can provide some linear superposition of first and second hand experience.