LaTeX output not copied to FILE Why?

In summary: So, it becomes:\begin{tabular}{|l|l|l|}\hlineBiased Voltage & \multicolumn{1}{c|}{Recorded data}\\\cline{2-3}& Voltage drop across diode(mV) & Voltage drop across resistor(mV)\\\hline0.00 & 0.006432 & -0.006394\\5.01 & 4.5550 & 0.691\\10.01 & 9.0899 & 1.023\\15.03 & 13.
JamesJames
I am just getting started on LateX and here is what I have done

I typed in this trial file and saved it. Then at the prompt typed latex myfile where myfile is the name of the file...
\documentclass{article}
\begin{document}
psi\mapsto 1/2\,m{\omega}^{2}{x}^{2}\psi
\end{document}

A whole bunch of stuff came up and then it said "No output pages" and then "Transcript copied to myfile.log."

I am using XP.

What do I have to do to see the following output in a file?

[tex]
H:=psi\mapsto \frac{1}{2}\,m{\omega}^{2}{x}^{2}\psi
[/tex]

I am getting the hang of the coding..

[tex]
shro:=-\frac{1}{2}\,{\frac {{h}^{2}{\frac {d^{2}}{d{x}^{2}}}\psi \left( x \right) }{
m}}+\frac{1}{2}\,m{\omega}^{2}{x}^{2}\psi \left( x \right) =E\psi \left( x
\right)
[/tex]

[tex]
-\frac{h \omega\}{2}\,left( {\frac {d^{2}}{d{y}^{2}}}\psi \left( y \right)
\right) +\frac{1}{2}\,\omega\,{y}^{2}h\psi \left( y \right) =E\psi
\left( y \right)
[/tex]

James

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
WOW, that really does look nice eh ?

Man, I wish it would just work on my system :cry:

Last edited:
Try \documentclass[12pt, letterpaper]{article}

Just a shot in the dark.

Edit make sure you denote any math by $-delimiters.

You have a few choices: (I'll list a few)

$x^2$
\begin{displaymath}x^2\end{displaymath}

Make sure your read some of the LaTeX documentation, plenty of it on the internet. Any TeX distribution will come with a short introduction to LaTeX (it's a PDF file), along with the AMS Math documentation (very well written).

Where would I put this?

$x^2$

why? and what does it do?

JamesJames said:
Where would I put this?

$x^2$

why? and what does it do?