A rigorous calculus self-study

In summary: Differential equations can be a lot more complicated than real analysis, and can be a bit of a trap if you're not careful.
colonelcrayon
Okay, here's the deal: I am going to run out of math classes at my high school at the end of this [junior] year. I'll have finished AP Calc BC (with Larson/Edwards as the text), but I already studied almost all of Gilbert Strang's free online text. So I'm really bored redoing material I already know. I want to do a rigorous self-study next year (maybe starting this year if I stay this bored). I want to work with a book that emphasizes theory and proof. I love the theoretical aspect and it would be great to get a taste of "real" math before heading off to college as a potential applied math major. My background is fairly standard USA K-12 math, with more rigorous intro calculus thanks to the Strang self-study.

My requirements for a book:

1) It must emphasize proof and have challenging material.
2) I would prefer if explanations are somewhat readable - über-formal prose can be frustrating.
3) Problem sets are a must, since I need to work through exercises to understand material properly.

The big three calculus/intro analysis texts (Spivak, Apostol, and Courant) are all obvious possibilities. Unfortunately, they are all really pricey. I could probably swing a copy of Spivak, but all those cheap Dover books have spoiled me.

What would you suggest?

Physics news on Phys.org
I suggest that you look at https://www.amazon.com/dp/038790459X/?tag=pfamazon01-20 by Kenneth Ross. It's an inexpensive introduction to Real Analysis (= Calculus with proofs). It's good for self-study since it's almost free from errors and typos (having gone through many printings) and has solutions to some of the problems. Read the reviews on Amazon for more opinions (keeping in mind that some reviews tell you more about the reviewer than the book!).

Last edited by a moderator:
^ Thanks for that recommendation.