Industrial Uses of Nitride and Carbide Hard Coatings

• Thread starter RPI_Quantum
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of nitride and carbide hard coatings in various industrial applications. The speaker is a student working with these coatings and is interested in learning more about their uses and advantages over traditional case hardening methods. Some examples of applications mentioned include valves, control rods, dental tools, and tools for drive splines and gears. The conversation also mentions advancements in hard coating technology, such as super-hard coatings and CVD-derived coatings.
RPI_Quantum
I'm a student working on some theoretical transition metal nitride hard coatings. I'm involved in sputter deposition and also electron microscopy of samples.

However, I do not know a lot about industrial uses of hard coatings. I was wondering if someone could give me insight into some applications of nitrides and carbides as hard coatings. I'm also curious as to when these thin coatings are more useful than say case hardening of metals.

Any information is appreciated, thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I know that valves have hardcoated surfaces. At one time, IIRC valves were made of Stellite (a cobalt alloy), but in a nuclear system, the cobalt can become radioative if it gets into the core.

Anyway try - http://www.stellite.com/

Also, some control rods are nitrided stainless steel to enhance lifetime to something more that 15 years.

Here are some additional examples -

Super-hard coatings give tools longer life -
http://www.csiro.au/index.asp?type=mediaRelease&id=FADS

Dental Tools – CVD Derived Hard Coatings for Dental Tools
http://www.azom.com/details.asp?ArticleID=185

PVD hard coatings advances made over 25 years
http://www.manufacturingtalk.com/news/blz/blz100.html

Last edited by a moderator: