What subject for thesis in algebra

In summary, the graduate student is seeking advice for an interesting topic in algebra for their thesis. They have discussed some suggestions with their advisor, but none of them have sparked their interest. The student is open to suggestions and is considering the topic of The Inverse Problem in the Calculus of Variations.
xixi
Hi
I'm a graduate student in mathematics and abstract algebra, and I'm looking for an exciting subject in algebra to work on for my thesis . I want the subject be new and sth that one can give paper on it . Any suggestion will be appreciated !

Physics news on Phys.org
What does you advisor think?

he suggested some subjects to me that aren't interesting to me .

Post the topics that he suggested and what you don't find interesting about them. That will give people more details about your studies as to suggest a good topic.

VeeEight said:
Post the topics that he suggested and what you don't find interesting about them. That will give people more details about your studies as to suggest a good topic.
the subjects were about "zero-divisor graphs of rings "and the graphs associated to rings . Actually I look for a subject in ring theory .

Perhaps you should speak to your advisor more about it, afterall they are the one that will be guiding your work so it's helpful for them to know what you find interesting and any ideas that you have.

It seems as though it's pretty common to take advice from random, unknown people on an internet forum when you've got an expert in the field (in your advisor) at your disposal. Of course it's helpful to speak to people here but as for things to research, it might be nice to have an indepth discussion about what you want to do - that way your advisor might be more helpful in suggesting topics you'll enjoy for future works.